Boards, Commissions, & Committees

Kern Mosquito Abatement District

Legal Authority: Established in July, 1916, as Dr. Morris Mosquito Abatement District pursuant to Health & Safety Code Sections 2024 and 2023. The name was changed to the Kern Mosquito Abatement District in October, 1947. By Resolution 90-950, dated October 30, 1990, the name was changed to Kern Mosquito and Vector Control District.
Membership Qualifications: Eight Trustees: four appointed by the Kern County Board of Supervisors, one each by City Councils of Bakersfield, Arvin, Shafter, and Wasco. Each member appointed by governing board of the city shall be an elector of the city and a resident of that portion of the city which is within the Kern Mosquito and Vector Control District. Each member appointed by the Board of Supervisors shall be an elector of the county and a resident of that portion of the county which is within the Kern Mosquito & Vector Control District.
Term: Two or four years, at the discretion of the appointing authority.
Duties: The primary objective shall be the progressive elimination of mosquito breeding places, the objective to be accomplished by an educational service on control measures, performing services of temporary relief control, establishing projects of source reduction, using abatement procedure methods when necessary, and by general policy of cooperation.
Meeting Place and Time: District Office
4705 Allen Road
Bakersfield, CA
Second Wednesday of each month at 11:30 A.M.
Compensation: 100.00 per month for travel and expenses.
Ethics Training Pursuant to State law, on or after January 1, 2006, any person newly appointed shall successfully complete a course in ethics training approved by the Fair political Practices Commission and Attorney General. Each member is required to complete this training every two years.
Contact: Kern Mosquito and Vector Control District
4705 Allen Road
Bakersfield, CA 93314
(661) 589 2744
  Oath and Statement of Economic Interests (Form 700) Required
Members When Appointed Appointed By Whom Term Expires
Robert J. Mayborn 5/6/1997 Board of Supervisors 12/31/2016
J. B. Selvidge 1/5/1999 Board of Supervisors 12/31/2016
Vacant (Replacing Richard Freeland) n/a Board of Supervisors 12/31/2017
Harmon L. Clement 4/17/2012 Board of Supervisors 12/31/2017
Danny Brown n/a City of Wasco 12/31/2016
William M. Prout 3/12/1997 City of Shafter 12/31/2017
Ms. Toni Pichardo n/a City of Arvin 12/31/2016
Florn Core n/a City of Bakersfield 12/31/2017